P #1: God’s Promises Point You to Christ

Wednesday night marked the beginning of Grace Kids Remix 2009! This year’s summer series is called “Exploring Egypt to Sinai: 4 P’s that Point You to Christ!” On our first evening we considered how God’s Promises point us to Christ. The night started with a magic trick; well . . . not really magic (object lesson), but Chiso used a rope to teach us about the important doctrine of the Trinity. Now, he did not seek to explain all of the complex mysteries of the Trinity, but he told us what the Bible teaches – there is One God who exists in three persons.

What followed was a boys versus girls game, and Hermit the caterpillar also competed (and did well!). The girls won the game, but the important thing was the message of the word puzzle we looked at, which said: “God keeps his promises.” This game led into our teaching time. I taught a lesson called, “God is present because of his promise.” (I revised the lesson for the Thursday night children’s outreach with Grace Chapel, calling it “God’s Promises Point You to Christ,” which was a more clear and simple message). Though I gave the kids way too much content (at GFC), they seemed to really enjoy watching the biblical story unfold on the sketch board with the bright paints and simply being at the park. The main truths I hope that the kids remember is that God keeps his promises, that God’s promised son is ultimately Jesus, and that life is found in Jesus.

I was discouraged after teaching the lesson Wednesday night. Why was I discouraged? Not because of the kids – they behaved so well. They were attentive and they reached out to the other two kids at the park. I was happy with them. The reason for my discouragement was myself. I knew that I had not been clear enough (in my teaching) and that I gave the kids a dose of biblical theology that would better span five or six lessons. I used terminology was too technical (etc., etc., the list could go on). However, in God’s providence a dear friend of mine corrected me (of my discouragement). She told me that I was too concerned about my performance. She was right. She gave me some pointers concerning how to do a better job next time and basically told me to get over it. The Lord humbled me in this matter and I am thankful for it. 

Though we ought to strive for excellence (by his grace), we must be careful not to get too down on ourselves when we fail. For, when we do this, it actually reveals that we think quite highly of ourselves. Not that there is no place for being sobered or sorrowful, but usually when we are struggling to ‘get over’ our failures, we actually reveal that we think we are something (as if by our abilities and talents we should have done better), when in fact, we are nothing (cf. Galatians 6:3). A. W. Tozer wrote a little yet very insightful essay on this topic called “The Futility of Regret.” You can likely find it through an online search. If you cannot find it let me know and I can email you the essay.

Sorry for the no-picture post; I hope to have pictures of next week’s Remix. I am really looking forward to Grace Kids Remix next week! Even though the park was basically empty (other than the two kids who we met at the playground afterwards), let us pray that the Lord will bring them back next week, and that many others will come and see. I am trusting that God will do great things! Please come out and join us in our exploration of Egypt to Sinai – where Christ shall stand forth from his Word.

Leave a Reply

