Some Closed Doors

Paul H. was out with me on Saturday. The Lord opened some doors for us to have some good talks. However, there were some closed doors too. I will mention two.

We approached one man who was leaning against the garbage bin as he waited for the bus travelling South on Islington. We approached him and I offered a free coin that has the 10 commandments on it. He refused by simply saying no. I mentioned that we were from the church and he instantly motioned with his hand that he did not want to talk. In a friendly manner, I quickly assured him that we were not trying to sell anything. 

As I was assuring him, he turned his back and walked away with both of his hands in the air. He walked about twenty feet or so, stopped, and stood with his back toward us. As he walking away, in a friendly manner I said something . . . something to the effect of, “Come on, what about friendliness – we’re in Canada.” I do not know why I said this. I would not necessarily recommend making comments like that when people turn (as he did). Whatever the case – that is what happened. That is a closed door ( for now) – pretty normal stuff that I encounter at bus stops (normal in the sense it is not unusual . . . it happens every now and again).

Later on we were talking to a lady from Vietnam. Her English was not great, but she was willing to talk. Paul H. started talking with her. Beside her was another man waiting for the bus. He was too close not to overhear our conversation, thus, I took a couple of steps and offered him a coin. He refused and with a big smile on his face he said, “No English, I do not speak English.” Since he said that with great clarity (and in English), with a smile I said, “You speak English.” Interestingly, he understood me and again, with a smile he said, “No English, I do not speak English.” We went back and forth for a bit. Finally, I said, “What do you speak?” He said, “No English.” I said “What do you speak? Where are you from? Italy?” There are many Italians in the immediate neighbourhood. He said, “Assyria.” I thought to myself, “Well, I do not Assyrian – I guess we will not be talking.” He seemed very happy that he had an excuse not to talk to me. Who knows – maybe he really hardly speaks any English and thought I looked funny? The Lord knows. Whatever the case – this was another closed door – a common one might I add. I wish I had a tract in Assyrian. I should have one.

I often like sharing the break through conversations that the Lord ordains. Indeed, we had some good conversations on Saturday; however, the purpose of this post is to share some the closed doors that are quite common to bus stop evangelism in Rexdale.

Leave a Reply

