A Couple of Huge Questions

A.W. Tozer argued that what you think about God is the most important thing about you. I agree … and add that a good question  put to ourselves and to others is this: what do you think of Jesus Christ?

One Huge Question

This past Saturday I talked to a man who told me he was Hindu and Christian. He was a kind man. We had a good conversation. At one point I asked him, “What do you think of Jesus – who is he?” He replied, “I don’t know how to answer that.” I followed up, “What thoughts come to your mind when you think of him? How would you describe him?” He said one word: “Saviour.”

This opened the door for me to talk about Jesus as Saviour. I explained that very reason Jesus came was to save us from our sins (Mt 1:21). We entered into the treasures of Matthew 1. We focused on Jesus as the Son of David. He listened as I explained the promise of a son who would be given to David. We considered how this Son of David would rule and judge the world. This led us to think about the judgement.

Another Huge Question

Earlier in our discussion he expressed his opinion that God would accept him (if he were to die today). But he also confessed that he has sinned. So, at this point I asked him about judgement: “How do you believe you will receive the forgiveness of sins?” He answered, “I’ve never thought about that.”

At this point the Lord gave me the grace to teach about sin, guilt and the forgiveness of sins found in Christ work on the Cross … but suddenly his bus arrived and off he went. My last words were simply encouragements to read the Bible (to learn more). May the Lord quicken him to do so … and I hope he grapples with those questions all the way to Christ. No one can be a true follower of Jesus Christ and a Hindu at the same time.

Leave a Reply

