Excuse me, Can I Ask You a Question?

Praise God for co-workers!

I was working at Starbuck’s last Friday and I left the store only to see my dear friend, Daniel Thabet, on his way in! What a kind providence! Even better, his appoinment was delayed and he was able to hit the streets with me – oh what a blessed joy to co-labour with dear brothers in the Lord! After some time in the 2 Timothy 1 and prayer … leaning on the Lord we went out.

Excuse me, can I ask you a question?

It is not everyday that I do this, but waiting for the walk sign to flash (at a cross walk) and feeling strongly compelled to speak to the man beside me, I asked, “Excuse me, can I ask you a question?” He said, “sure.” “What do you think about Jesus Christ?” Smurking with a bit of chuckle, he replied, “That’s a pretty open ended question.” Open ended it was. But it lead to a very pointed and profitable discussion about the claims of Jesus Christ.

Respectful but lost 

He was a friendly Hindu. We talked for maybe about 15 or 20 minutes. I cannot recall exactly what he told me about Jesus, but he told me his plan – it was to live a good life in hopes that God will reward him accordingly. He suggested that all religions are similar. I agreed that many religions have many things in common, namely, do good. But when it comes to Jesus Christ, true Christianity is very different from everyother way (vastly different!). God gave me the grace to relay to him what Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father (God) expect through me” (John 14:6).”

Being very respectful (and apparently interested), he wanted to hear more about “why?” Why is Jesus the only way? God gave me the grace to talk about our sin (Rom 3:23) and how we are all guilty before God. He was kind enough to give me time to explain how guilt cannot be removed by payback (good works). The pennies seemed to be dropping and he seemed quite agreeable, not only that we are all sinners, but that is a serious offense to sin against a Holy God.

Gospel

By the grace of God I was able to tell him, “God so loved the world that He gave his only Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16) … even more, to talk about the reconciliation we can have with God through Jesus Christ. He wasn’t in a rush. He didn’t have a Bible and he wanted one. So I gave him one. I also challenged him to seek God and the truth about Jesus Christ. I admonished him to seek God by reading the Scriptures and asking God to reveal Himself.

Oh that he might seek and find! But not only him. Me too! May we all be seeking Him at all times (Ps. 105:4). This entire discussion started with two questions: 1) Can I ask you a question? and 2) what do you think about Jesus Christ. Daniel and I were encouraged by how God answered our prayers t0 lead us to someone who would be open and willing to listen to the Gospel. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

