Day 7: Arthur Preaches Christ’s Call, “Come!”

I have been really encouraged by a new friendship that has been forged with a young man named Arthur. He’s been faithfully coming out with me every time I hit the streets. In this post he shares about a great conversation he had last Thursday.

I noticed a young lady enter the bus shelter in front of us. So I went to talk to her. I handed her a tract and said, “there is a million dollar question on the back, and the question is this: will you go to heaven?” She smiled and said, “that’s a good question.” We went on to talk about the importance of speaking about eternal matters.

I asked her, “What would you do if you were to stand before God in order to enter heaven?” In all solemnity she said, “I don’t know.” I began to explain the Gospel to her, telling her that our salvation has already been accomplished for us outside of ourselves even before we were born! Instead of us trying to earn salvation, I told her we must trust in Christ, for he earned our righteousness on our behalf and then was punished for our sins! I explained to her from Scripture how we must put our faith in Christ and that when we do that, God grants us eternal life; old things pass away, all things become new.

I noticed she was wearing a cross and asked her if she had a Christian background. She said she was Greek Orthodox. I said, “I come from an Orthodox background myself. But, instead of trusting in good works we must trust in the Gospel of God’s grace.” We talked about how eternal life is a gift that we receive by faith.

She began to confess that she was going through some difficult things. I remembered how I myself was once burdened and heavy laden and how God had given me rest. Accordingly, I showed her in Scripture that Christ says “Come!” Come to me, all who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Mt 11:28-29). I told her we can come to Him at any time. She said, “you are right.” I explained that Jesus gives us a rest that is beyond understanding. I asked if I could pray for her and we bowed our heads and prayed.

Eventually I realized she had skipped several buses to stay and talk with me and I thanked her for that and gave her a booklet called Two Ways to Live. I told her how she could get in touch with us and that I looked forward to seeing her one of these Sundays!

Leave a Reply

