Day 9: You’re Judging Me

After talking to a nice lady for a while last Saturday, she told me, “You’re judging me.” I told her, “No, I’m just telling you what the Bible says.” She replied, “No, you’re judging me.” I said, “Now your judging me, saying that I’m judging you.” She wouldn’t admit that she was judging me; only that I was judging her. For her, one thing is clear: Christians are judgemental, not her.

As I’ve reflected on the conversation (and other things she said), I think I better understand her. I think she meant this:

(1) Judging is when you tell someone that what they do/believe is wrong. (2) You are telling me that what I believe is wrong. (3) Therefore, you are judging me.

Though I don’t think she would have received the following analysis at that moment, part of me wishes I would have said, “Are you saying that I’m judging you because I’m saying your wrong?” (Yes). “But in saying that I’m judging you, aren’t you saying that I’m wrong for judging you?” “You seem to be doing the very same thing that you condemn.”

The more fundamental issue at hand is this: she was persuaded that the Christian belief is simply a point of view. She said, “Why are you even trying to get me to believe what you believe?” I said, “Because I care for you and want you to know God; God the Creator, the God of the Bible.” She replied, “That’s just God according to your point of view.” I said, “No, it’s the truth, and it’s true whether I believe it or not.” She said, “No, that’s just your point of view.” And on the conversation went.

Let me sum up her issue with Christians:  who are they to say everyone else is wrong? Their view of God is simply their view; that’s all it is. It has no bearing on others; it has no bearing on reality. They ought not to push it on anyone; to do so is unacceptable, for it suggests that they think they’re right and others are wrong. This culture of thought is poisonous, arrogant, and when articulated with some persuasion, it’s borderline harassment.

Does anyone see the self-refuting nature of this objection to Christian thinking? It says, (1) a person’s belief about God is simply a point of view; and (2) You can’t tell anyone else their position is wrong, for your view is simply your view.

So then how can she be so sure that everything is simply a matter of perspective? Is that not just her perspective? If she’s consistent, all she should be confident of is that her own point of view is merely her point of view, nothing else. How could she know if someone else’s view was merely a point of view? That’s just her perspective. The second she says, “That’s just your perspective,” she’s actually revealing what she really believes. She might not even know it, but she really does believe her perspective is right, and that the Christian one is wrong. Do you see that? The second she refuses the Christian’s claim that everything is NOT simply a matter of perspective, she is saying they are wrong. But that’s something she’s not supposed to do. In fact, that’s the very thing she despises, but she does herself.

These arguments seem so clear to me but as I reflected more on the conversation, I realized something. Consistent, logical arguments aren’t silver bullets for conversion, but God is. May He be gracious and give life to the dead.

Leave a Reply

